Eurovision Young Musicians 1990

Location Austria
Host Broadcaster ORF
Venue Musikverein
Host(s) Gerhard Toetschinger
Participants 5
Jury President Vaclav Neumann
Executive Producer Heidelinde Rudy
Conductor Pinchas Steinberg
TV Director Claus Viller
Interval Act Julian Rachlin

Programme Book

Cologne 2016

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 took place in Cologne, Germany, on 3 September at the Roncalliplatz. You can re-watch the show here.

Host City | Venues | Participants | Competition Format | Host Broadcaster | Steering Group


# Representing country Participant Instrument Piece Place
01 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Niek van Oosterum Piano Concert for Piano and Orchestra a-minor op. 16, 1 Mov. by Edvard Grieg 01
02 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Christine Heeger Piano Concert for Piano and Orchestra num. 2, A-major by Franz Liszt -
03 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumRTBF
Christophe Delporte Accordion Concert for Accordion and Orchestra B-Major, 2 and 1 mov. by Nikolai Chaikin -
04 Germany
Flag of GermanyZDF
Koh Gabriel Kameda Violin Concert for Violin and Orchestra, D-Major, op. 77, 1 mov. by Johannes Brahms -
05 France
Flag of FranceFrance 3
Anne Gastiel Cello Concert for Cello and Orchestra, H-Minor, op. 104, 1 mov. by Antonin Dvorak -

About the show

The 5th Eurovision Young Musicians final was held at Musikverein in Vienna, Austria on 29 May 1990.

Musicians from five countries participated in the televised final. They were all accompanied by the Austrian Radio Symphony Orchestra under the leadership of Pinchas Steinberg.

A total amount of 18 countries participated on this year's competition (Netherlands, Greece, Cyprus, Norway, Switzerland, Ireland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Germany, Finland, Austria, France, Denmark, Sweden, Belgium, Yugoslavia and Spain) but only 5 made it to the final. The semi-final took place in Vienna on May 21st.

The jury consisted of:

  • Vaclav Neumann (Conductor, Violinst) as a Head of the Jury died in Sept.,1995
  • Günther Breest (Concert Manager)
  • Brian J. Pollard
  • Carole Dawn Reinhart (Trumpeter)
  • Rainer Küchl (Violinist)
  • Charles Medlam (Conductor, Cellist)
  • Philippe Entremont (Conductor, Pianist)