Eurovision Young Musicians 1982

Location United Kingdom
Host Broadcaster BBC
Venue Free Trade Hall
Host(s) Humphrey Burton
Participants 6
Voting method jury voting,
Jury President Argeo Quadri
Executive Producer Roy Tipping
Conductor Bryden Thomson
TV Director Peter Butler
Interval Act None - Interview with the artists

Cologne 2016

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 took place in Cologne, Germany, on 3 September at the Roncalliplatz. You can re-watch the show here.

Host City | Venues | Participants | Competition Format | Host Broadcaster | Steering Group


# Representing country Participant Instrument Piece Place
01 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Anna Markland Piano Piano Concerto No.2 by S. Rachmaninov -
02 France
Flag of FranceTF1
Paul Meyer Clarinet Clarinet Concerto No.2 by C.M. von Weber 02
03 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Atle Sponberg Violin Violin Concerto No.1 by N. Paganini -
04 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Bertrand Roulet Piano Piano Concerto No.2 by D. Shostakovich 03
05 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Leonhard Kubizek Clarinet Clarinet Concerto by W. A. Mozart -
06 Germany
Flag of GermanyZDF
Markus Pawlik Piano Piano Concerto No.1 by F. Mendelssohn 01

About the show

The first edition of the Eurovision Young Musicians contest took place at the Free Trade Hall of Manchester, United Kingdom, on May 11th, 1982

The host Humphrey Burton welcomed the six participant countries (United Kingdom, France, Austria, Germany, Norway and Switzerland) in three languages: English, French and German.

Each country could send an artist, male or female, not older than 19. The artist had to play an instrument and a musical piece of his/her choice accompained by the BBC Northern Symphony Orchestra conducted by Bryden Thomson.

After all six artist had performed, the jury voted and chosed the top 3 performances. The winner got a prize of 1,000 Pounds.

The jury was composed by:

  • Argeo Quadri (March 23, 1911 - April 14, 2004) - Italy as Head of Jury
  • Hans Heinz Stuckenschmidt (November 1, 1901 - August 15, 1988) - West Germany
  • Frans Vester (May 22, 1922 - May 4, 1987) - The Netherlands
  • Gerhard Wimberger (August 30, 1923) - Austria
  • Miguel Ángel Estrella (July 4, 1940) - Argentina
  • Eric Tappy (May 31, 1931) - Switzerland
  • Jean-Claude Casadesus (December 7, 1935) - France
  • Mischa Maisky (January 10, 1948) - USSR / Israel
  • Alun Hoddinott (August 11, 1929, March 11, 2008) - United Kingdom
  • Carole Dawn Reinhart (December 20, 1941) - USA
  • Gunnar Rugstad - Norway