Eurovision Young Musicians 1986

Location Denmark
Host Broadcaster DR
Venue Radiohusets Koncertsal
Host(s) Anette Faaborg
Participants 5
Voting method jury voting,
Jury President Claudio Scimone
Executive Producer Niels Karl Nielsen
Conductor Hans Graf
TV Director Marianne Montell
Interval Act : Isabelle van Keulen (winner of 1984 EYM) and Olli Mustonen (participant of the 1984 EYM) performed together the piece "Suite Italienne" by I. Stravinski

Programme Book

Cologne 2016

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 took place in Cologne, Germany, on 3 September at the Roncalliplatz. You can re-watch the show here.

Host City | Venues | Participants | Competition Format | Host Broadcaster | Steering Group


# Representing country Participant Instrument Piece Place
01 France
Flag of FranceFrance 3
Sandrine Lazarides Piano Piano Concerto E flat by F. Liszt 01
02 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Alan Brind Violin Concerto for violin and orchestra D minor, op.47, 1st movement by J. Sibelius -
03 Yugoslavia
Flag of YugoslaviaJRT
Aleksandar Madzar Piano Piano Concerto n.4 G major, op.58, 2nd and 3rd movements by L. van Beethoven -
04 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Jan Erik Gustafsson Cello Variations on a Rococo Theme for Violoncello and Orchestra, op.33 by P. Tchaikovsky 03
05 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Marian Rosenfeld Piano Piano Concerto no.1 E minor, op.11, 2nd and 3rd movements by F. Chopin 02

About the show

The 3rd edition of the Eurovision Younh Musicians competition took place at the Radiohusets Koncertsal in Copenhagen (Denmark) on May 27, 1986

A total amount of 15 countries took place in the event but only 6 made it to the final. The eliminated countries were Germany, Austria, Israel, Belgium, Norway, Denmark, Ireland, Sweden, Netherlands and Italy.

All participants had to be younger than 19 and had to perform a classical piece of their choice accompained by the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hans Graf.

The jury consisted of:

  • Claudio Scimone (December 21, 1934) - Italy as President of the Jury
  • Carole Dawn Reinhart (December 20, 1941) - USA/Austria
  • Poul Birkelund (May 28, 1922 - October 22, 2006) - Denmark
  • Georges Dumortier - Belgium
  • Ton Hartsuiker (May 12, 1933) - Netherlands
  • Hannu-Ilari Lampila (September 16, 1947) - Finland
  • Björn Liljequist - Sweden
  • Teresa Llacuna (1935) - France
  • Jasna Nemec Novak - Yugoslavia
  • Siegried Palm (April 25, 1927 - June 6, 2005) - Germany
  • Sir David Willcocks (December 30, 1919)- United Kingdom