Eurovision Young Musicians 2004

Location Switzerland
Host Broadcaster SRG SSR idée suisse
Venue KKL Luzern
Host(s) Christian Arming
Participants 7
Voting method jury voting,
Jury President Michael Haefliger
Executive Producer Thomas Beck and Renzo Rota
Conductor Christian Arming
TV Director Mando Bernardinello
Interval Act None (video about the week of the musicians in Lucerne)

Cologne 2016

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 took place in Cologne, Germany, on 3 September at the Roncalliplatz. You can re-watch the show here.

Host City | Venues | Participants | Competition Format | Host Broadcaster | Steering Group


# Representing country Participant Instrument Piece Place
01 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Alexandra Soumm Violin Violin Concerto No.1 (1st Movement) by N. Paganini 01
02 Germany
Flag of GermanyZDF
Koryun Asatryan Saxophone Pequeña Czarda by P. Iturralde 02
03 Russia
Flag of RussiaRTR
Dinara Nadzhafova Piano Piano Concerto No.2 (3rd Movement) by C. Saint-Saëns 03
04 Poland
Flag of PolandTVP
Agnieszka Grzybowska Marimba Concerto for Marimba and Strings by N. Rosauro -
05 Estonia
Flag of EstoniaERR
Jaan Kapp Piano Piano Concerto No.2 (3rd Movement) by S. Rachmaninoff -
06 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSRG SSR idée suisse
Giuliano Sommerhalder Trumpet Trumpet concerto No.2 (2nd and 3rd movement) by A. Jolivet -
07 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Vilde Frang Bjaerke Violin Violin Concerto (3rd movement) by J. Sibelius -

About the show

The 2004 Eurovision Young Musicians competition took place at the KKL Luzern, Lucerne (Switzerland) on May 27, 2004

After the semifinal took place (on May 22nd and 23rd at the same venue), only 7 countries made it to the final (Austria, Germany, Russia, Poland, Estonia, Switzerland and Norway). For the first time, the host and the conductor was the same person, in this case, it was the Austrian conductor Christian Arming.

The young musicians had to be aged between 14 and 19. Their performances could not be longer than 7 minutes.

The jury consisted of:

  • Michael Haefliger (Switzerland) (May 2, 1961) as Head of Jury
  • Harold Clarkson - United Kingdom
  • Mihaela Ursuleasa (September 27, 1978 - August 2, 2012) - Romania
  • Bruno Giuranna (1933) - Italy
  • Milan Turkovic - Austria
  • Harvey Sachs (June 8, 1946) - USA/Canada