Eurovision Young Musicians 2006

Location Austria
Host Broadcaster ORF
Venue Rathausplatz
Host(s) Schallbert "Sillety" Gilet
Participants 7
Voting method jury voting
Jury President Ranko Marko
Conductor Christian Arming
TV Director Heidelinde Haschek
Interval Act Performance of several Mozart pieces by the host, and other invited artists

Cologne 2016

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 took place in Cologne, Germany, on 3 September at the Roncalliplatz. You can re-watch the show here.

Host City | Venues | Participants | Competition Format | Host Broadcaster | Steering Group


# Representing country Participant Instrument Piece Place
01 Romania
Flag of RomaniaTVR
Alina Elena Bercu Piano Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, KV 503, 1st movement by W.A. Mozart -
02 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSRG SSR idée suisse
Simone Sommerhalder Oboe Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra, KV 314, 1st movement by W.A. Mozart -
03 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Jennifer Pike Violin Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, KV 216, 2nd movement by W.A. Mozart -
04 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Tine Thing Helseth Trumpet Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra, 1st movement by J. Haydn 02
05 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Andreas Brantelid Cello Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra, 1st movement by J. Haydn 01
06 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Daniela Koch Flute Concerto for Flute and Orchestra, KV 314, 1st movement by W.A. Mozart -
07 Russia
Flag of RussiaRTR
Dmitry Mayboroda Piano Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, KV 467 3rd movement by W.A. Mozart 03

About the show

The 2006 Eurovision Young Musicians competition took place on the open air stage at the Rathausplatz in Vienna (Austria) on May 12, 2006

This was the first time that the competition was held on a open air stage and was the beginning of the Wiener Festwochen. The young musicians from the 7 participating countries in the final (Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Sweden, Norway, Austria and Russia) were accompained by the Vienna Symphony Orchestra directed by Christian Arming.

The young musicians could not be older than 19 and their performance during the final could not be longer than 7 minutes and 30 seconds.

A few days before the final, on May 7th and 8th, the semifinals took place at the Vienna Konzerthaus, where the finalists where chosen.

The jury consisted of:

  • Ranko Markovic - Austria as Head of the jury
  • Hiroko Sakagami Japan/Switzerland
  • Martin Fröst (December 14, 1970) - Sweden
  • Carole Dawn-Reinhart (December 20, 1941) - USA
  • Heinz Sichrovsky (December 19, 1954) - Austria
  • Erik Niord Larsen (November 6, 1943) - Norway
  • Lidia Baich (November 29, 1981) - Austria

Did you know?

Due to the celebrations of the 250th anniversary of the birth of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, the pieces performed by the finalists were restricted to Mozart or pieces from his contemporaries.