Eurovision Young Musicians 2008

Location Austria
Host Broadcaster ORF
Venue Rathausplatz
Host(s) Lidia Baich and Christoph Wagner-Trenkwitz
Participants 7
Voting method jury voting,
Jury President Sir Roger Norrington
Executive Producer Michael Heinzl
Conductor Aleksandar Markovic
TV Director Heidelinde Haschek
Interval Act Angelika Kirchschlager performing "One Life to Live" alone and "We dream together" with the Wiener Sängerknaben (Vienna Boys' Choir)

Cologne 2016

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 took place in Cologne, Germany, on 3 September at the Roncalliplatz. You can re-watch the show here.

Host City | Venues | Participants | Competition Format | Host Broadcaster | Steering Group


# Representing country Participant Instrument Piece Place
01 Slovenia
Flag of SloveniaRTVSLO
Jan Cricar Saxophone Pequeña Czarda by P. Iturralde -
02 Russia
Flag of RussiaRTR
Anastasia Kobekina Cello Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C Major, 1st movement by J. Haydn -
03 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Philip Achille Harmonica Concerto for Chromatic Harmonica and Orchestra, 1st movement by M. Spivakovsky -
04 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Roope Gröndahl Piano Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in B-Minor, 3rd movement by P. Tchaikovsky 02
05 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Dionysios Grammenos Clarinet Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra, 4th movement by J. Francaix 01
06 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNTR
Steven Bourne Cello Elegie by G.Fauré -
07 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Eldbjorg Hemsing Violin Carmen Fantasie by F. Waxman 03

About the show

The 2008 Eurovision Young Musicians competition took place on the open air stage at the Rathausplatz in Vienna (Austria) on May 9, 2008

Like in 2006, the competition was held on a open air stage and was the beginning of the Wiener Festwochen. The young musicians from the 7 participating countries in the final (Slovenia, Russia, United Kingdom, Finland, Greece, Netherlands and Norway) were accompained by the Vienna Symphony Orchestra directed by Aleksandar Markovic.

In this edition, a price of the public was given to the artist who got the highest amount of votes, apart from the normal jury voting. The Norwegian contestant Eldbjorg Hemsing, who also became 3rd in the competition, won this award.

The jury consisted of:

  • Sir Roger Norrington (March 16, 1934) - United Kingdom as Head of the jury
  • Ranko Markovic - Austria
  • Jeanette de Boer - Netherlands/Austria
  • Lars Anders Tomter (November 30, 1959) - Norway
  • Günter Volgmayr (1968-2012) - Austria
  • Alison Balsom (October 7, 1978) - United Kingdom