11 countries ready for Young Musicians 2016

11 countries ready for Young Musicians 2016
Ziyu He won the 2014 competition for Austria (Photo: EBU / Elena Volotova)
Geneva -

Eleven countries are gearing up to take part in the 18th edition of the Eurovision Young Musicians Competition, which takes place this on 3 September in Cologne, Germany.

After hosting the event two years ago, WDR was chosen as the host broadcaster again for the 2016 edition back in late 2014, and preparations are now will underway for this year's competition in just over four months' time. A total of 11 countries will take part this year:

  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • San Marino
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

What's new in 2016?

Changes for this year include the removal of the semifinal or 'pre-round' stage. All 11 participants will take part directly in the final, and the jury will make their decision based on this performance only. Pieces for the final show are permitted to be between six and 6:30 minutes in length.

There will also be more interaction with the jury in this year's competition, with several members invited to comment after each performance on what they liked, and to give their advice to each participant for the future.

What do you think?

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page
  • Posted on 17 June 2016 at 22:54

    Who can participate in this competition? My daughter is 12, she is Pianist, we live in France, but she has german and austrian citizenships. Which Country can she represent? Thanks for your Reply. [email protected] report to the moderator