Eurovision Young Musicians welcomes 18 participants in 2018!

Eurovision Young Musicians welcomes 18 participants in 2018!
Poland's Łukasz Dyczko wins Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 Photo: Thomas Hanses (EBU)
Edinburgh, Scotland -

The 2018 edition of Eurovision Young Musicians is set to be the biggest event since 2006 with 18 participating countries. The competition will take place across several nights with Semi-Finals on 18th and 19th August and the Final taking place on 23rd August. The 19th edition of the event will be hosted in Edinburgh by BBC Scotland and BBC Radio 3.

The 2018 will mark the first time that Eurovision Young Musicians has been held in Scotland and the first time that the contest has returned to the United Kingdom since the inaugural edition was held in Manchester in 1982. Scotland's capital city previously hosted the Eurovision Song Contest in 1972.

Participants in 2018

  • RTSH (Albania)
  • RTBF (Belgium)
  • HRT (Croatia)
  • Czech TV (Czech Republic)
  • ERR (Estonia)
  • WDR (Germany)
  • ERT S.A. (Greece)
  • MTVA (Hungary)
  • Kan IPBC (Israel)
  • PBS Ltd. (Malta)
  • NRK (Norway)
  • TVP (Poland)
  • RTR (Russia)
  • RTV (San Marino)
  • RTV (Slovenia)
  • RTVE (Spain)
  • SVT (Sweden)
  • BBC (United Kingdom)

Six contestants will be selected by the jury to progress to the Final. Each contestant will perform a movement with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra (conducted by. T. Dausgaard). An expert jury will decide the winner of Eurovision Young Musicians 2018.

The last edition of Eurovision Young Musicians took place in Cologne in September 2016 and was won by Poland's Łukasz Dyczko.

Embed this video

What do you think?

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page