Meet the jury for 2016

Meet the jury for 2016
Julian Rachlin, Chairman of the jury for Eurovision Young Musicians
Cologne, Germany -

The jury are one of the most important components of Eurovision Young Musicians and will decide who will win the competition tomorrow evening. The Eurovision Young Musicians jury is made up of five professional musicians who will comment on the performances after each participant has finished their piece. After all of the performances, the jury will award points to each participant, with the total scores being used to decide the winner. Prizes will be awarded to the first, second, and third placed participants.

Julian Rachlin (Chairman)

Julian Rachlin is the Chairman of the jury for Eurovision Young Musicians 2016. He is one of the most exciting and respected violinists of our time. Over the last 28 years, he has established close relationships with many of the most prestigious conductors and orchestras. He is also praised as a viola player and conductor, and is receiving recognition for his educational outreach and charity work as UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador. Read more about Julian.

Jonathan Cohen (Jury member)

Jonathan Cohen is one of Britain’s finest young musicians. He has forged a remarkable career as a conductor, cellist and keyboardist. Well known for his passion and commitment to chamber music, Jonathan is equally at home in such diverse activities as baroque opera and the classical symphonic repertoire. He is Artistic Director of Arcangelo, Associate Conductor of Les Arts Florissants, Artistic Director of Tetbury Festival and Artistic Partner of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. Read more about Jonathan.

Tine Thing Helseth (Jury member)

Tine Thing Helseth started to play the trumpet at the age of 7, and is one of today’s leading trumpet soloists. Highlights of recent seasons include her BBC Proms concerto debut at the Royal Albert Hall in the London premiere of Matthias Pintscher’s Chute d’Étoiles for two trumpets and orchestra with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. In addition to her concert appearances, Tine also curates her own festival, [email protected], which was launched in June 2013 in celebration of the 150th anniversary of the birth of fellow Norwegian, Edvard Munch. Read more about Tine.

Andreas Martin Hofmeir (Jury member)

Andreas Martin Hofmeir, who at present is certainly one of the best and most versatile instrumentalists, loves to commute between different genres: the 38-year-old professor teaches at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg, founded the popular Bavarian band LaBrassBanda and is a multiple award-winning cabaret performer. He is a sought-after soloist and chamber musician and gives master classes all over the world. Read more about Andreas.

Alice Sara Ott (Jury member)

German-Japanese pianist Alice Sara Ott has gained critical acclaim for her performances at major concert halls worldwide and has established herself as one of the most exciting musical talents of today. The Guardian, commenting on her recent performance with the London Symphony Orchestra, said that she “gave the kind of gawp-inducing bravura performance of which legends are made.” Alice has worked with the world’s leading conductors, including Lorin Maazel, Paavo Järvi, Neeme Järvi, James Gaffigan, Sakari Oramo, Osmo Vänskä, Vasily Petrenko, Myung-Whun Chung, Hannu Lintu and Robin Ticciati. Alice’s latest CD, The Chopin Project, with Icelandic composer Ólafur Arnalds, was released in March 2015 on Mercury Classics. The album reached No.1 in the Official UK Classical Chart and the iTunes chart in 25 other countries. Read more about Alice.

What do you think?

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page